As a member state of the Schengen Agreement, Belgium allows citizens of the Schengen Area to visit for travel and business purposes without any passport and immigration controls or any other formalities previously required (i.e. a visa).

Schengen Area visa lists. Schengen member states,  Other EU members outside Schengen Area but bound by same visa policy and special territories of the EU and Schengen member states,  Members of the EU with an independent visa policy, ♦ Visa-free access to the Schengen states for 90 days in any 180 day period, although some Annex II nationals can enjoy longer visa-free access in some circumstances (EC 539/2001 Annex II), ♦ Visa required to enter the Schengen states (EC 539/2001 Annex I),  Visa required for transit via the Schengen states (EC 810/2009 Annex IV),  Visa status unknown.


National identity card

Citizens of countries within the Schengen Agreement (see above) can use their national identity cards as travel documents when traveling to Belgium. This includes: Austria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Passport (No Visa required)

Citizens of the following countries can enter and stay in Belgium without a visa for up to 90 days: Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Bermuda, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Cyprus, El Salvador, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Macao, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mexico, Moldavia (applies only to holders of biometric passports), Monaco, Montenegro (applies only to holders of biometric passports), New Zealand (including The Cook Islands, Niue, Tokelau), Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Romania, San Marino, Serbia (applies only to holders of biometric passports), Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America (including Virgin Islands of the United States, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico), Uruguay, Vatican and Venezuela.

Citizens of countries not listed above have to obtain a visa from the Belgian Embassy or Consulate General in the country of their principal residence. In some cases, Belgium is represented by another Schengen country. Furthermore, there are likewise countries where Belgium neither has its own mission nor is represented by another country. In that case, the visa application must be handed in personally in the nearest country with a Belgian embassy or Consulate General.

More information is provided on the website of the Belgian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

If you need an invitation letter, kindly contact Rebecca Bundschuh